May 29, 2024
Digital Islamic Guide
✨✨Welcome to Digital Islamic Guide: Discover the Beauty of Islam✨✨
Islamic Hijri Calendar Digitalislamicguide-min

Hijri Calendar 1445 / 1446 | Islamic Calendar 2024 

Muslims globally rely on the Islamic calendar, also referred to as the Lunar or Hijri calendar, to ascertain the timings of religious occasions and rituals.

This calendar operates on a lunar system, comprising 12 months, where the commencement of each new month coincides with the sighting of a new moon.

Key Islamic DateGregorian DateHijri Date
Al Isra’ wal Mi’raj (The night journey and ascension)8th February 202427th Rajab 1445
Shab-e-Barat25th February 202415th Shaban 1445
Ramadan begins11th March 20241st Ramadan 1445
Laylatul Qadr6th April 202427th Ramadan 1445**
Eid al Fitr10th April 20241st Shawwal 1445
Dhul Hijjah begins7th June 20241st Dhul Hijjah 1445
Hajj begins14th June 20248th Dhul Hijjah 1445
Day of Arafah15th June 20249th Dhul Hijjah 1445
Eid al Adha16th June 202410th Dhul Hijjah 1445
Islamic New Year7th July 20241st Muharram 1446
Day of Ashura16th July 202410th Muharram 1446

*These dates are dependent on moon sightings
** It is widely believed that Laylatul Qadr occurs on the 27th Night of Ramadan, however many scholars recommend focusing on the last 10 nights of Ramadan

Islamic Months

  1. Muharram
  2. Safar
  3. Rabi Al-Awwal
  4. Rabi Al-Thani
  5. Jumada Al-Awwal
  6. Jumada Al-Thani
  7. Rajab
  8. Shaban
  9. Ramadan
  10. Shawwal
  11. Dhul Qadah
  12. Dhu al-Hijjah (month of Hajj)

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs):

What is the Islamic Hijri calendar?

Muslims globally utilize the Islamic calendar, also known as the Lunar or Hijri calendar, to mark the timings of religious events and observances. This calendar is structured around 12 lunar months, with each new month commencing upon the sighting of a new moon.

What are the Islamic months?

The Islamic calendar, known as the Hijri calendar, comprises the following 12 months in sequential order:

  1. Muharram
  2. Safar
  3. Rabi al-Awwal
  4. Rabi al-Thani
  5. Jumada al-Awwal
  6. Jumada al-Thani
  7. Rajab
  8. Shaban
  9. Ramadan
  10. Shawwal
  11. Dhu al-Qadah
  12. Dhu al-Hijjah (the month of Hajj)

How many days in the Islamic calendar?

The Islamic calendar, also referred to as the Hijri calendar, encompasses either 354 or 355 days.


  • Digital Islamic Guide

    Digital Islamic Guide brings you the latest news and essential information that empowers Muslim readers.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top

Get Updates!

Get all latest Islamic Duas, Articles and News in your email.

Prophet Muhammad Life in Brief Islamic Finances and Economics: A Simple Guide What is the significance of Mecca in Islam? What are the Rights of Women in Islam Zil Hajj Moon Sighted, Eid-ul-Adha Date Confirmed by Grand Mufti What is the Significance of Eid al-Adha?